The Forest City London Music Awards is committed to encouraging young musicians in high school to pursue a post-secondary education in Music.  The late Ken Palmer was an integral part of the London music scene for more than 40 years as a performer with the Dixie Flyers, Artistic Director of the Home County Music & Art Festival and a music teacher. The $1,000 bursary named in his honour is awarded to a graduating high school student pursuing music education at a post secondary level in Ontario.

Bursary Applicants:

  1. The applicant must be in their last year of secondary school, with either the Thames Valley District School Board or the London District Catholic School Board.
  2. The applicant must have made a strong contribution to their school music program.
  3. The applicant must be pursuing music as a major at a post-secondary school in Ontario, upon graduating from secondary school.

*The institution may be any provincially accredited University or College music program in Ontario.


A complete application must include the following:

  1. An essay (500 to 1000 words) from the applicant, describing why they would be an appropriate selection for this $1,000.00 CDN bursary.
  2. Letter of recommendation from the applicant’s school Music teacher or a Guidance Councillor.
  3. Letter of intent for continuing post-secondary music education as described.
  4. Complete contact information.

Please fill out and email your application by (2019 Deadlines Announced Soon) to  Winners will be notified prior to the Awards ceremony.

Our Board of Directors is grateful for our partnership with LifeSpin so that we are able to issue tax-deductible receipts for donations to our

Ken Palmer Music Bursary.

If you would like to donate, please click the button below and indicate your donation is in memory of the late Ken Palmer, for the FCLMA Ken Palmer Music Bursary.


Gillian Derer and Rebecca Myette, 2018 FCLMA Ken Palmer Bursary winners with FCLMA Bursary Amabassadors Ian Davies (far left) Linda Wharton (far right)

Hannah Couto, FCLMA Ken Palmer Bursary Recipient 2017 with teacher AJ Petrasiunas (right), Dan Brock (far right) & MP Circelli (far left).

Keegan Marshall (centre), 2017 FCLMA Ken Palmer Bursary Winner with Ian Davies FCLMA Bursary Ambassador (left) and Committee Member Greg Simpson (left).

The FCLMA Board of Directors gratefully acknowledges the participation and partnership of LifeSpin through which we are able to issue tax deductible receipts for donations to the FCLMA Ken Palmer Bursary. The FCLMA and LifeSpin helping to make a difference in our community.